Today's animal of the week are the canaries of the seas, Belugas. You see me fangirling about them as they are one of favorite animals.

Name: Beluga ( Delphinapterus leucas )

Conservation Status: Vulnerable species.

Life span: 35- 50 years.

Eating habit: Carnivorous

What do they eat: Beluga whales have a varied diet consisting of octopus, squid, crabs, shrimp, clams, snails, and sandworms. They also eat a variety of fishes.

Where do they live: Beluga whales live in the Arctic Ocean.

More facts: - They are called canaries of the sea because they make different facial expressions and make noises such as a series of chirps, clicks, whistles and squeals.

- They like peace and quiet.

- They can make low and high noise.

- Belugas are toothed whales, but they never chew their food.

- They can echolocate, meaning using sound to find things and communicate.

Belugas are sweet and kind. Stay tuned for more.. - Kara

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All